Royal Philharmonic Society Awards Announces Shortlist

By Afton Wooten

A shortlist of this year’s Royal Philharmonic Society Award recipients has been released.

For the purposes of this article only opera related nominees are included. The full list can be found here. 

Chamber-Scale Composition
Nilufar Habibian – “Az nahāyate tāriki” (“From the deep end of darkness”)

Alice Farnham; Alpesh Chauhan; François-Xavier Roth

BBC Singers; Kaleidoscope Chamber Collective

Re:Sound – Streetwise Opera; Music in Secondary Schools Trust; Olympias Music Foundation

Glasgow Madrigirls; Sheffield Philharmonic Chorus; The Sunday Boys

Large-Scale Composition
Jasdeep Singh Degun – “Orpheus;” Kaija Saariaho – “Innocence”

Opera and Music Theatre
Chornobyldorf Huddersfield – Contemporary Music Festival; “Dialogues des Carmélites” – Glyndebourne Opera; “Innocence” – The Royal Opera

Series and Events
Aldeburgh Festival; Manchester Classical; Oratorio of Hope – London Borough of Croydon

Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha, soprano; Nicky Spence, tenor

Young Artist
Lotte Betts-Dean, mezzo soprano

Awards will be presented in Manchester at the Royal Northern College of Music on March 5.