Anna Netrebko, Elīna Garanča, Sonya Yoncheva, Jonas Kaufmann & Luca Salsi Lead Teatro alla Scala’s 2023-24 Season

The Teatro alla Scala has announced ts 2023-24 season. The season opens with Verdi’s “Don Carlo” which will star René Pape, Francesco Meli, Luca Salsi, Ain Anger, Anna Netrebko, and Elīna Garanča. Riccardo Chailly conducts a production by Lluis Pasqual. Maria Jose Siri and Ekaterina Semenchuk perform the final two performances. Performance Dates: Dec. 7, 2023-Jan. 2, 2024 Sonya Yoncheva {…}

Saioa Hernandez, Carlos Alvarez, Sabina Puertolas & Juan Jesus Rodriguez Lead Teatro de La Zarzuela’s 2023-24 Season

The Teatro de la Zarzuela has announced its 2023-24 season featuring zarzuela productions, concerts, and recitals. Zarzuela The season opens with “El Caballero del Olmedo” starring Joel Prieto, Cesar Arrieta, Rocio Perez, Alba Chantar, German Olvera, Ramiro Maturana, Nicola Beller Carbone, Berna Perles, Gerado Bullon, and Ruben Amoretti. Guillermo Garcia Calvo conducts the production by Lluis Pasqual’s production. Performance Dates: {…}

Lisette Oropesa, Lawrence Brownlee, Maria José Siri, Hanna-Elisabeth Müller Headline Dresden Philharmonic’s 2023-24 Season

(Photo Credit: Steven Harris) The Dresden Philharmonic has announced its 2023-24 season. For the purposes of this article, our focus will be vocal and operatic performances. Robert Treviño leads a program of music by Janácek, Martinu, and Brahms with the Prager Philharmonischer Chor. Performance Dates: Oct. 26, 2023 François Leleux leads a program featuring music by Mendelssohn and Lera Auerbach’s {…}

Anna Netrebko, Jonas Kaufmann, Lisette Oropesa, Elīna Garanča & Sondra Radvanovsky Lead Teatro San Carlo’s 2023-24 Season

The Teatro San Carlo di Napoli has announced its 2023-24 Season featuring concerts and operas. Sondra Radvanovsky and Oksana Dyka sing the title role in Puccini’s “Turandot” with Alexander Tsymbalyuk, Yusif Eyvazov, SeokJong Baek, Rosa Feola, and Amina Edris. Dan Ettinger conducts the new production by Vasily Barkhatov. Performance Dates: Dec.9-17, 2023 Mattia Olivieri, Alessandro Spina, Piero Pretti, Alex Esposito, {…}

Donizetti Opera Festival, Lisette Oropesa & Andrew Staples Among Premio Abbiati Winners

The prestigious Premio Abbiati has announced its 2023 winners.  The awards, which are decided by critics, saw  “La favorite” from the Donizetti Opera Festival win Best Production. Riccardo Frizza conducted and Valentina Carrasco directed. The Special award went to “Le Sonate per pianoforte di Salvatore Sciarrino alla Fabbrica del Vapore,” while the Premio “Roberto Masotti” went to Festival Aperto di {…}

Cecilia Bartoli, Jonas Kaufmann, Anna Netrebko, Lisette Oropesa & Juan Diego Flórez Lead Wiener Staatsoper’s 2023-24 Season

The Wiener Staatsoper has announced the 2023-24 season featuring new productions, revivals, and concerts. Premieres The company will showcase Tatjana Gürbaca’s production of “Il Trittico.” For “Il Tabarro,” audiences will hear Carlos Álvarez, Anja Kampe, and Joshua Guerrero. Headlining “Suor Angelica” will be Eleonora Buratto and Michaela Schuster. Finally, for “Gianni Schicchi,” the headliners including Carlos Álvarez, Serena Sáenz, Michaela {…}

Lisette Oropesa, Laquita Mitchell, Kenneth Overton, Katrina Galka, Yongzhao Yu Star in New Orleans Opera Association’s 2023-24 season

(Credit: Steven Harris) New Orleans Opera Association has announced its 2023-24 season. “The New Orleans Opera Association is proud to bring another robust season of opera to our beautiful city – the North American birthplace of the art form,” said Clare Burovac, General and Artistic Director, in an official press statement. “Incredible stories will be told through well-loved classics, new {…}

Anna Netrebko, Sondra Radvanovsky, Benjamin Bernheim & Ludovic Tézier Lead Opéra de Paris’ 2023-24 Season

The Opéra de Paris has announced its 2023-24 Season featuring many new productions and many of the great stars in the world. Alexander Soddy conducts Mozart’s “Don Giovanni” with a cast that includes Peter Mattei, Kyle Ketelsen, Adela Zaharia, Julia Kleiter, Ben Bliss, Cyrille Dubois, John Relyea, Gaëlle Arquez, Tara Erraught, Alex Esposito, Bogdan Talos, Guilhem Worms, Ying Fang, and {…}