National Opera Studio Unveils 2023-24 Young Artists

By David Salazar

The National Opera Studio has revealed the new artists that will be part of its 2023-24 Global Talent Programme and its National Talent Programme.

The National Opera Studio Global Talent Programme Artists include sopranos Rosalind Dobson, Nikolina Hrkać,  Kira Kaplan, Sofia Kirwan-Baez, and Heming Li; mezzo-sopranos Georgia Mae Ellis, and Camilla Seale; tenors Robert Forrest and Rhydian Jenkins; baritones Jonathan Eyers and Aleksander Kaczuk-Jagielnik; and bass-baritone Smelo Mahlangu. They will be joined by Repetiteurs Hana Kim, Johanna Kvam, Blanca Graciá Rodríguez, and Jacob Swindells

Moreover, the National Opera Studio National Talent Programme Artists will include Shafali Jalota and Mokolo Letsoalo.

“As we embark on this new era of opportunity at the National Opera Studio, we welcome our cohort of 2023/24 Young Artists for our established Global Talent Programme,” said Emily Gottlieb, the Chief Executive of the National Opera Studio in an official press statement. “They will benefit from fully funded, tailored training in partnership with the six leading opera companies in the UK. We’re also delighted to welcome the singers joining our National Talent Programme, and we look forward to seeing them develop over the coming year. With our Diverse Voices initiative, we are delighted to have further extended opportunities for more talented young artists than ever before.”

There will be three programs featuring these artists on Oct. 18, Nov. 8, and Dec. 6 and 7.