Aigul Akhmetshina, Michael Spyres, Lisette Oropesa, & Bayerische Staatsoper Win Big at Opera Awards

By Francisco Salazar

The winners of the 2023 Opera Awards were announced on Thursday at the Polish National Opera.

The Bayerische Staatsoper was awarded the top prize of Opera Company of the Year while the Conductor of the Year went to Antonio Pappano. The winner of Best Female Singer of the Year was Aigul Akhmetshina and Best Male Singer of the Year went to Michael Spyres. The Bayerische Staatsoper also won the Best New Production award for its “War and Peace.”

The Designer prize went to Lizzie Clachan, while Barrie Kosky was awarded Best Director of the Year. The Equal Opportunities & Impact Award was given to La Monnaie / De Munt for its season “A Bridge Between Two Worlds,” while the Festival of the Year prize was given to Festival d’Aix-en-Provence. Stéphane Lissner was awarded the Leadership prize, while Marilyn Horne received the Lifetime Achievement prize.

Nadine Sierra was voted the Reader’s Award, while the Sullivan Foundation was honored with the Philanthropy prize.

Opera Rara’s “Il proscritto” was named the Recording “Complete Opera” of the Year, while Lisette Oropesa’s French Bel Canto Arias was named the Recording ‘Solo Recital’ of the Year.

Andrzej Filończyk was named the Younger Singer of the Year and “Jawnuta” at the Poznań Opera received the prize for Rediscovered Work.

Finally, the Dutch National Opera won two awards. The company’s “Animal Farm” won the World Premiere Award while the company itself took home the Sustainability prize.