YoungArts Announces 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts Nominees

By Afton Wooten

YoungArts announced the nominees for the 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts.

Of the 60 students nominated Detola Badmus, Remi Baker, William Bolin, Ale Fonseca, Ethan Hanzlik, Kai Lavender, Gabrielle Liberman, Leah Rutherford, Gage Samaddar, and Molly Sierra are in the vocal category.

Nominees represent 19 states and one American abroad, and nine artistic disciplines. The students were nominated to the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program following the intensive National YoungArts Week. Open to YoungArts award winners with distinction, 2024 National YoungArts Week included classes and workshops with leading artists in their fields, performances, writers’ readings, film screenings and an exhibition. Applications will be reviewed by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars.

The Commission will ultimately select 20 high school seniors to be recognized as U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts for their academic and artistic accomplishments, demonstrated leadership, community service and outreach initiatives, and overall creativity.

The 2024 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts will be announced in the coming months.