Tiara Abraham, Andrew Gellen, Lukas Palys, & Detola Badmus are Among the Winners of the 2024 YoungArts Award

By Afton Wooten

YoungArts announced its 2024 YoungArts award winners. This article features classical voice winners only. A complete list of the 2024 winners, all 15–18 years old or in grades 10–12 can be found here.

In the classical voice category the winners include sopranos Tiara Abraham, Grace Chung, Olivia Gonzales, Theo Hsu, Ava Maha, Milena Manocchia, Esther Puderbaugh, Felicity Robles, and Viveka Saravanan, as well as mezzo-soprano Gabrielle Liberman. Tenors include Bryan Corral, Eli Farrell, and Andrew Gellen. Isaiah Gallegos, Jaxson Glowacki, John Paige, and Lukas Palys took home awards in the baritone category. Bass winners include Detola Badmus and William Bolin.

This year, winners were selected from more than 9,000 applications across 10 artistic disciplines. Each award winner will receive a monetary award of $250. Badmus, Bolin, Chung, Farrell, Gonzales, Liberman, Maha, and Palys received distinction. They are invited to participate in National YoungArts Week, held January 7-13, 2024, in Miami. During the week, participants have opportunities to share their own work, which is further evaluated for cash awards of up to $10,000; experience interdisciplinary classes and workshops; and receive mentorship from leading artists in their fields.

Winners with distinction are also eligible to be nominated to become U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts, one of the highest honors given to high school seniors by the President of the United States. YoungArts, the sole nominating agency, nominates 60 artists to the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, from which the 20 U.S. Presidential Scholars in the Arts are selected.

YoungArts award winners join a distinguished group of accomplished artists including Daniel Arsham, Terence Blanchard, Camille A. Brown, Timothée Chalamet, Viola Davis, Amanda Gorman, and more.