Tchaikovsky Competition Receives Applications from 41 Countries

By Francisco Salazar

The Tchaikovsky Competition has announced that it has received 742 applications from 41 different countries.

The directorate said that participants signed up from such countries as Russia, China, South Korea, Mongolia, Japan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the USA, Uzbekistan, France, Spain, Serbia, Mexico, the United Kingdom, Venezuela, Canada, Australia, Armenia, Germany, Georgia, Italy, Moldova, Singapore, Switzerland, Austria, Azerbaijan, Hungary, Vietnam, Indonesia, Kyrgyzstan, Colombia, Congo, Lithuania, Mozambique, the Netherlands, Paraguay, Syria, Turkey, Ukraine, South Africa, and Sweden.

Most applications were received from Russia, China, South Korea, Japan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, the USA, and France.

The Tchaikovsky Competition will be held from June 19 to July 1, 2023 in Moscow and St. Petersburg in six categories; piano, violin, cello, voice, woodwinds and brass instruments.

The competition, which was expelled from the World Federation of International Music Competitions will be broadcast on the official website of the Competition and on the social network of the Competition VKontakte.