Natalya Romaniw & Philadelphia Orchestra Triumph At Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2020

(Credit: The Gramophone) The Gramophone has announced the winners of its Classical Music Awards 2020. Recording of the Year prize went to Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla and the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra with Gidon Kremer and Kremerata Baltica for the recording of Mieczysław Weinberg’s Symphonies No. 2 & No. 21. Israeli-American violinist and conductor Itzhak Perlman was presented with the Lifetime {…}

Joyce DiDonato, Luca Pisaroni, Franco Fagioli, Sandrine Piau, Nicky Spence Clinch 2020 Gramophone Awards

(Credits: Sandrine Expilly / Bertie Watson) The Gramophone has announced its 2020 Awards. The top Opera recording went to the Erato’s release of Handel’s “Agrippina”, featuring Joyce DiDonato, Elsa Benoit, Luca Pisaroni, Franco Fagioli, Jakub Józef Orliński, Andrea Mastroni, Carlo Vistoli, Biagio Pizzuti, and Marie-Nicole Lemieux. Maxim Emelyanychev conducted the Il Pomo d’Oro orchestra. Sandrine Piau received the Recital prize {…}

Christian Gerhaher, Joyce DiDonato, Józef Orliński, Benjamin Bernheim Among Nominees for Gramophone Awards 2020

Credit: Gregor Hohenberg/Sony Gramophone has announced the recordings that have advanced to the final round of the Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2020. For the purpose of this article, we will focus on vocal, choral, and opera categories. The first contestant in the opera category is the Barber’s “Vanessa,” performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Glyndebourne Chorus, under the musical {…}