Christian Gerhaher, Joyce DiDonato, Józef Orliński, Benjamin Bernheim Among Nominees for Gramophone Awards 2020

By Dejan Vukosavljevic
Credit: Gregor Hohenberg/Sony

Gramophone has announced the recordings that have advanced to the final round of the Gramophone Classical Music Awards 2020.

For the purpose of this article, we will focus on vocal, choral, and opera categories.

The first contestant in the opera category is the Barber’s “Vanessa,” performed by the London Philharmonic Orchestra and Glyndebourne Chorus, under the musical direction of Jakub Hrůša. The opera stars Emma Bell, Virginie Verrez, Edgaras Montvidas, Rosalind Plowright, and Donnie Ray Albert.

The second nomination went to Gounod’s “Faust,” featuring Les Talens Lyriques and the Flemish Radio Choir, under the direction of Christophe Rousset. The opera stars Benjamin Bernheim, Véronique Gens, and Andrew Foster-Williams, among others.

The final slot went to the Handel’s “Agrippina,” performed by Il Pomo d’Oro and conducted by Maxim Emelyanychev. This opera stars Joyce DiDonato, Franco Fagioli, Luca Pisaroni, Andrea Mastroni, Jakub Józef Orliński, and Elsa Benoit.

Three recordings that have made it to the final round in the choral category are Bach’s “St Matthew Passion” performed by the Bach Collegium Japan and Maasaki Suzuki, Handel’s “Samson” featuring the Dunedin Consort and John Butt, and “An English Coronation” as performed by the Gabrieli Consort under the direction of Paul McCreesh.

Kate Lindsey’s “Arianna,” Sandrine Piau’s “‘Si j’ai aimé’,” and Jakub Józef Orliński’s “Facce d’amore” were nominated in the recital category.

Finally, in the solo vocal category the first nomination went to Janáček’s “The Diary of One who Disappeared,” featuring Nicky Spence and Julius Drake. The second choice was the combo of Schubert’s “Schwanengesang” and Brahms’ “Vier ernste Gesänge” performed by Gerald Finley and Julius Drake. The final nomination belonged to the recording of Schumann’s “Myrthen,” which includes Camilla Tilling, Christian Gerhaher, and Gerold Huber.

The winner in each category will be announced on Sep. 22, 2020. A single album among those winners will be named Recording of the Year, to be revealed at a digital Awards Ceremony on Oct. 6, 2020.