OPERA America Names New Board Members & Chair

By David Salazar
(Photo credit: Billy Diaz)

OPERA America has announced the addition of new members and officers to its Board of Directors.

Here is a full list of the new board members.

  • Angel Blue, Soprano
  • Cheryl Slay Carr, Board President, Nashville Opera
  • Antonio C. Cuyler, Professor, University of Michigan
  • Barbara Lynne Jamison, General Director and CEO, Kentucky Opera
  • Christopher Koelsch, President and CEO, Los Angeles Opera
  • Karen J. Kubin, Trustee, San Francisco Opera
  • Mont Levy, Trustee, Opera Theatre of Saint Louis
  • E. Loren Meeker, General and Artistic Director, OPERA San Antonio
  • Andrew Morgan, General Director, Hawai’i Opera Theatre
  • Michael Hidetoshi Mori, Artistic and General Director, Tapestry Opera
  • Sylvia Neil, Board Chair, Lyric Opera of Chicago
  • Julia Noulin-Mérat, General Director and CEO, Opera Columbus
  • Maggey Oplinger, General Director and CEO, Florentine Opera
  • Barbara Augusta Teichert, Trustee, Los Angeles Opera and Opera Philadelphia

Additionally, the organization announced the election of Susan. G. Marineau as its 14th chair. Marineau, who is the current chair of The Santa Fe Opera, joined OPERA America’s board in 2018 and served as vice chair of governance over the past two years.

“We are thrilled to welcome Susan G. Marineau, Estevan Rael-Gálvez, and Mont Levy into their new roles, along with this new cohort of board members. Their combined leadership and perspective will help guide OPERA America and the field as we continue to emerge from the pandemic,” said OPERA America President/CEO Marc A. Scorca in an official press statement.

Other major appointments include Estevan Rael-Gálvez as new vice chair for governance and Mont Levy as chair of OPERA America’s National Opera Center Board; Nicholas King, Founder and Executive Director of After Arts, and scenic designer Alan E. Muraoka have also been added as board members to the National Opera Center Board.