Maggie Finnegan, Amanda Forsythe & Paula Murrihy Highlight Boston Baroque’s 2019-20 Season

By Nicole Kuchta

Boston Baroque has announced its 2019-20 season, which will include five concerts.

The season will open with two Classical symphonies: Mozart’s “Linz” Symphony No. 36 in C major, and Haydn’s Symphony No. 102 in B flat. Soprano Amanda Forsythe will perform a set of virtuosic arias including “Barbaro, o Dio, mi vedi” from Mozart’s “Il re pastore,” “Ruhe sanft, mein holdes Leben” from Mozart’s “Zaide,” and “Bella mia fiamma, addio” and “Anna, m’ascolta” from Haydn’s rarely-performed oratorio “Il ritorno di Tobia.” The performance will be held at Jordan Hall, New England Conservatory.

Performance Dates: Oct. 25 & 27, 2019

Boston Baroque will present Martin Pearlman’s Grammy-nominated interpretation of Handel’s Messiah for the holidays, featuring soloists Amanda Forsythe, mezzo-soprano Ann McMahon Quintero, tenor Thomas Cooley, and baritone Andrew Garland. To be held at Jordan Hall.

Performance Dates: Dec. 6 & 7, 2019

To ring in the New Year, Soprano Maggie Finnegan will be featured in Vivaldi’s motet “Nulla in mundo pax sincera,” Corelli’s Concerto Grosso in F, No. 6, and a French Baroque orchestral suite by Rameau. Additionally, the orchestra will perform two Bach masterpieces: Concerto in D for Three Violins, and the Orchestral Suite in D. The performance will be held at Sanders Theatre, Harvard University.

Performance Dates: Dec. 31, 2019 & Jan. 1, 2020

In the spring, Boston Baroque will present Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons, with Grammy-nominated concertmaster and violinist Christina Day Martinson. The program will also include Vivaldi’s Gloria in D and Monteverdi’s Beatus Vir, featuring the Boston Baroque’s chorus. To be held at Jordan Hall.

Performance Dates: Mar. 27 & 29, 2020

To complete the season, Boston Baroque will present two semi-staged performances of Handel’s opera “Ariodante,” directed by Mary Birnbaum. Mezzo-soprano Paula Murrihy will star in the title role, alongside soprano Keira Duffy as Ginevra, soprano Sonja Tengblad as Dalinda, Ann McMahon Quintero as Polinesso, tenor Rufus Müller as Lurcanio, bass Nathan Berg as King of Scotland and tenor Jonas Budris as Odoardo. Martin Pearlman will conduct. To be held at Jordan Hall.

Performance Dates: Apr. 24 & 25, 2020