La Monnaie De Munt Awarded Prix de la Critique for Best Scenography

By Afton Wooten

La Monnaie De Munt has been recognized for its scenography of “Das Rheingold” by the French Comité du Syndicat de la Critique.

The production directed and designed by Romeo Castellucci received the award at the Prix de la critique 2022-23 ceremony on June 6. The event was held at the Paris Théâtre de la Ville-Sarah Bernhardt. La Monnaie De Munt’s General and Artistic Director Peter de Caluwe accepted the award in person.

De Caluwe stated in a press release, ‘It is wonderful that a prestigious Ring project manages to convince from its first episode. This recognition for the work of Romeo Castellucci and the teams at La Monnaie / De Munt is a welcome boost for the continuation of the cycle which, despite the changed production team, we pursue with equal enthusiasm and creativity.”

This production stared Gábor Bretz, Andrew Foster-Williams, Julian Hubbard, Nicky Spence, Marie-Nicole Lemieux, Anett Fritsch, Nora Gubisch, Scott Hendricks, Peter Hoaref, Ante Jerkunica, and Wilhelm Schwinghammer. Alain Altinoglu conducted.

Since 1963, these awards have been presented by the French “Syndicat professionnel de la critique de théâtre, musique et danse” to honor the cultural impact made by artists and arts organizations in the last season.