Glimmerglass Festival Unveils 2024 Young Artists

By Afton Wooten

The Glimmerglass Festival has announced the 45 members of its 2024 Young Artists Program.

This year’s roster includes singers, dancers, conductors, pianists, and directors from across the United States and countries such as Guyana, Canada, Korea, Uzbekistan, China, South Africa, and the Philippines. This article only features classical vocalists.

Lauryn Davis, Saane Halaholo, Kaylan Hernandez, Emilie Kealani, Amanda Sheriff, Catherine Thornsley, and Ethel Trujillo are among the sopranos in the 2024 class. Mezzo-sopranos include Ruby Dibble, SarahAnn Duffy, Emily Harmon, Winona Martin, Alexandra Sanchez, Tzytle Steinman, and Xiao Xiao. Counter tenor Kyle Tingzon returns for a second year. Tenors include Henry Benson, Seiyoung Kim, Fran Daniel Laucerica, Daniel O’Hearn, Ajit Persaud, Namarea Randolph-Yosea, and Tristan Tournaud. Benjamin Dickerson, Tshilidzi Ndou, Jonathan Patton, and Geoffrey Schmelzer make up the baritone roster. Bass-baritones are Evan Lazdowski, Zizhao Wang, and Jason Zacher, and basses are Cameron Rolling and Joshua Thomas.

Glimmerglass young artists will perform and cover appropriate roles in all four mainstage productions. They will also receive musical coaching, attend classes in diction and acting, and are given instruction in audition techniques, role preparation, and the business aspects of managing a career. Young artists will also work with 2024 Artist-in-Residence Irish mezzo-soprano Tara Erraught. 

The 2024 Glimmerglass Festival’s mainstage productions include Gilbert & Sullivan’s “The Pirates of Penzance,” Cavalli’s “La Calisto,” Leoncavallo’s “Pagliacci,” and Kevin Puts and Mark Campbell’s “Elizabeth Cree.” The festival will also feature the world premiere of the youth opera “Rumpelstiltskin and the Unlovable Children” by Jens Ibsen and Cecelia Raker and “Project Pipeline,” behind-the-scenes of opera.