George London Foundation Announces Competition Finalists

By Francisco Salazar

The finalists for the 48th annual George London Foundation Awards Competition have been revealed.

The George London foundation announced that Sarah Joyce Cooper, Shannon Jennings, Rebecca Pederson, Elizabeth Reiter, Olivia Smith, Amanda Lynn Bottoms, Samantha Gossard, Carolyn Sproule, Polixeni Tsiouvaras, Matthew Swensen, Charles Sy, Joseph Tancredi, Kyle van Schoonhoven, Matthew White, Vartan Gabrielian, and Ron Dukes will compete on Feb. 22, 2019 in the finals.

The George London competition is one of the most prestigious competitions in the country. At the event’s conclusion, a few of them will be named this year’s winners of the George London Award and will win $10,000 prize.

Last February, the 2018 George London Award winners were soprano Lauren Margison, mezzo-sopranos Raehann Bryce-Davis, Rihab Chaieb, and Emily D’Angelo, baritone Benjamin Taylor, and bass-baritone Lawson Anderson.

The finals will be held at the Gilder Lehrman Hall at The Morgan Library & Museum at 4 pm.