Edita Gruberova, Ermonela Jaho & Stéphane Degout Among ICMA Winners

By Francisco Salazar

The Jury of the International Classical Music Awards (ICMA) has announced the 2021 award winners.

Among the winners are soprano Edita Gruberova who was honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award while Spanish conductor Pablo Heras-Casado was named Artist of the Year.

In the audio and video releases winners included Ermonela Jaho for her new album “Anima Rara;” Ivan Repusic conducting the Igor Kuljeric Glagolitic Requiem; as well as Camille Saint-Saëns’ opera “Le Timbre d’Argent” featuring Hélène Guilmette, Jodie Devos, Edgaras Montvidas, Yu Shao, and Tassis Christoyannis.

Other winners included Thomas’ “Hamlet” featuring Stéphane Degout, Sabine Devieilhe, Laurent Alvaro, Sylvie Brunet-Grupposo, Nicolas Legoux, Julien Behr, Jérôme Varnier, Yoann Dubruque, and Kevin Amiel

In a statement, ICMA President Remy Franck and Secretary General Nicola Cattò said,  “The pandemic might only come into effect for recording companies during the next years. In 2020 the ICMA jury – 20 media from 16 countries – was able to choose nominations among a huge number of releases. As a result, ICMA is again able to present an outstanding international list of winners, with productions from 17 labels and 8 different countries. This proves again that the ICMA Jury has a global overview of the market and grants its annual awards to labels and musicians around the world who have proven outstanding performances in their specific field. We have often been told that ICMA Awards are very important and valuable for the industry as well as for the performers. We are happy that we may help to make outstanding recordings popular, especially in these difficult times where the musical life suffered so much.”