Donizetti Opera Festival & Teatro Alla Scala Among Winners of Premio della Critica Musicale ‘Franco Abbiati’

By Francisco Salazar
(Credit: Gianfranco Rota)

The Winners of the Premio della Critica Musicale “Franco Abbiati” have been announced.

The award for best presentation of 2019 went to Mario Martone’s production of “Khovanshchina” at the Teatro alla Scala. The production was conducted by Valery Gergiev.

The Special prize went to the Donizetti Opera Festival’s production of “L’Ange de Nisida” directed by Francesco Micheli.

Meanwhile, Asmik Grigorian and Christophe Dumaux were awarded Best Singers of 2019. Grigorian won for her turn as Marietta in “Die Tote Stadt” and Dumaux for his work as Tolomeo in “Giulio Cesare.”

Robert Carsen won the award for Best Director for his productions of “Orfeo ed Euridice” and “Idomeneo” at the Teatro dell’Opera di Roma, “Giulio Cesare” at the Teatro alla Scala, and “Don Carlo” at the Teatro la Fenice.

Other winners included Kirill Petrenko, Musiche per Matera, Federica Parolini, Silvia Aymonino, Martha Argerich, and Quartetto Werther.

The awards were picked by a jury that included Alessandro Cammarano, Paola De Simone, Andrea Estero, Carlo Fiore, Angelo Foletto, Enrico Girardi, Giancarlo Landini, Gianluigi Mattietti, Gian Paolo Minardi, Carla Moreni, Alessandro Mormile, Paolo Petazzi, Alessandro Rigolli and Lorenzo Tozzi.