Cincinnati Song Initiative Unveils Digital 2020-21 Season

By David Salazar

Cincinnati Song Initiative has announced its 2020-21 season which will feature all-digital performances.

The season will feature mainstage projects including “A World of Song,” “Winter Song Festival,” and “Let it Be New.”

A World of Song

The main slate will kick off with “For the Dream Unfinished” starring Jasmine Habersham, Nicole Heaston, Nicholas Newton, Blair Salter, and Rolando Salazar. The concert will feature music by John Carter, John L. Cornelius III, W.G. Still, Howard Swanson, and Richard Thompson.

Streaming Date: Oct. 11, 2020

Colorful Thoughts” will feature music from Eastern Europe with such performers as Laura LeVoir, Toni Marie Palmertree, Kathleen Kelly, and Ellen Rissinger.

Streaming Date: Dec. 6, 2020

Cincinnati songSLAM” will present 10 teams with the opportunity to showcase one song for voice and piano. Audiences will vote on their favorite with up to $2,000 in prize money on offer.

Streaming Date: Jan. 9, 2021 

On Belonging” will close out the main slate with such artists as Fleur Barron, Samuel Chan, Myra Huang, and Hyejin Kwon performing music of Asia.

Streaming Date: Feb. 21, 2021 

Winter Song Festival

Kicking off the Winter Song Festival will be Elena Villalón and Samuel Martin as they perform music by Manuel de Falla, Olivier Messiaen, and Francis Poulenc, among others.

Streaming Date: Jan. 10, 2021

Deborah Lifton, Jehú Otero, Andrea González Caballero, and Charis Dimaras headline “Celebrating Latinx Voices,” a concert that highlights Spanish-language song.

Streaming Date: April 11, 2021 

For “Let It Be New,” the organization will commission songs from 10 composers taking part in the National Association of Teachers of Singing composer mentorship program. Composer mentors participating include Juliana Hall, Anthony Davis, Tom Cipullo, Roy Jennings, Jake Heggie, Andrea Clearfield, Lori Laitman, Evan Mack, H. Leslie Adams (General Advisor), and Michael Ching.