Cincinnati Opera Announces New Board of Trustees

By Francisco Salazar

The Cincinnati Opera has announced the election of officers for its board of trustees for the 2023-2024 fiscal year.

The board also announced five trustees and two Cincinnati Opera Board Associates.  The elected officials were President Melanie M. Chavez, Partner at Chavez Properties, Executive Vice President Ronald T. Bates, Managing Director at 1919 Investment Counsel, Chair Liz Kathman Grubow, Vice President and Managing Creative Director at LPK, Treasurer Robert Bitter, AERS Partner at Deloitte & Touche, and Secretary Charles E. Baverman III, Partner at Dinsmore & Shohl.

The new trustees include Katherine Anderson, Assistant Vice President and Private Wealth Relationship Manager at Merrill Lynch, Yemisi O. Jones, M.D., Attending Physician at Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center, Michael L. Powell, Senior Vice President and Deputy General Counsel at Fifth Third Bank, Jason Riveiro, Executive Director and Chief Operating Officer at NAHREP, and Tricia Suit, Director of Content at Game Day Communications.

The new Board Associates include Deanna Hillard, Program Manager at Interact for Health, and Eric Shane Heatley, Assistant Director and Honors Advisor at the University of Cincinnati.

Officers were elected at Cincinnati Opera’s Annual Meeting on Sept. 20, 2023, and will serve one-year terms.