Beth Morrison Projects Announced First-Round Finalists of ‘BMP: Next Generation’ Composer Program

By Logan Martell

Beth Morrison Projects has announced the first-round finalists in its second three-year cycle of BMP: Next Generation initiative, which seeks to shine a light on rising composers of opera and musical theatre.

The finalists are Gabriel Fynsk, Elizabeth Gartman, Eli Greenhoe, Gabrielle Herbst, Jens Ibsen, Laura Jobin-Acosta, Maya Miro Johnson, Niloufar Nourbakhsh, Timothy Peterson, and Huan Sun. These 10 were selected in January from a pool of 117 applicants nationwide.

From the 10 finalists, Morrison and BMP Executive Director Jecca Barry will produce an event to showcase their works, with a panel of industry professionals selecting the final two composers who will showcase an original 30-minute opera the following year. The winner will then receive a commission to develop and premiere a full-length work.

Launched in 2018, the BMP: Next Generation program has worked with composers such as Du Yun, Ted Hearne, David T. Little, Missy Mazzoli, Nico Muhly, Paola Prestini, Kamala Sankaram, Julian Wachner, and more.