Anna Pirozzi Wins the Premio Puccini

By Francisco Salazar

Anna Pirozzi has been awarded the Premio Puccini.

Pirozzi will receive the award from the Fondazione Festival Pucciniano. She joins a roster of past winners that include Jonas Kaufmann, Angela Gheorghiu, Maria Guleghina, Vittorio Grigolo, Gabriella Tucci, Grace Bumbry, Birgit Nilsson, Katia Ricciarelli, Renata Tebaldi, Maria Callas, Luciano Pavarotti, and Woody Allen, among others.

Pirozzi has performed numerous works by Puccini including “Turandot,” “Tosca,” “Manon Lescaut,” “Il Tabarro,” and “Suor Angelica.” She has performed at every major theater in the world including the Metropolitan Opera, Teatro alla Scala, Bayerische Staatsoper, Royal Opera House, and the Wiener Staatsoper. She is set to perform “Adriana Lecouvreur” at the Paris Opera this January.