2025 FEDORA Prizes Biennale Announces Opera Jury

By Afton Wooten

FEDORA has selected jury members to evaluate the applicants for its Prizes Biennale 2025.

The opera jury, composed of eight opera experts, is chaired by former CEO of Royal Swedish Opera, Birgitta Svendén. Jury members are Pierre Audi the Festival of Aix-en-Provence’s General Director, composer Alex Ho, CEO of the Royal Danish Theatre Kasper Holten, Iva Hraste-Sočo
the General Manager of Croatian National Theatre in Zagreb, Director of the Dutch National Opera Sophie de Lint, Alexander Neef the General Director at Paris National Opera, and the Director of Opera Europa Karen Stone.

The jury members will team together to review the received applications, define the shortlist, and will nominate three projects per prize category. After nominees are announced in Oct. the nominees are given the opportunity to run crowdfunding campaigns this autumn on the FEDORA Platform to gain visibility and participate in a public voting period.

Following a second jury meeting in the spring, the jury will select and name the recipients of the 2025 Next Stage Grants and the €100,000 FEDORA Opera Prize. The opera category is supported by The Silver Company, in collaboration with expert partner Opera Europa.

Since 2013, the FEDORA Prizes has supported cutting-edge artistic projects that promote international collaboration, creativity, social integration and intercultural dialogue, as well as digital innovation on and beyond the stage. There are four categories, Opera, Dance, Education and Digital.