Wagner Society of New York Unveils 2024 Grant Winners

By David Salazar

The Wagner Society of New York has announced its grant winners for 2024.

Following a round of auditions at Merkin Concert Hall on May 21, 2024, the organization awarded the top prize to tenor Shawn Roth. The Robert Launch Memorial Fund Award winner will take home $6,000.

Coming in second and taking home the Ursula Springer Award and $3,000 is mezzo-soprano Sarah-Jane Lewis.

There were $1,000 encouragement grants given to baritone Joel Balzun and soprano Hannah Crawford as well as $500 grants for tenor Jaewon Jung, mezzo-soprano Gretchen Krupp, soprano Marissa Moultrie, tenor John Kun Park, bass-baritone Leo Radosavljevic, baritone Daniel Scofield, soprano Kelly Slawson, and soprano Julia Wolcott.

This year’s panel included artist manager Ken Benson, conductor Tyson Deaton, dramaturg Cori Ellison, vocal coach Roger Malouf, and arts administrator Deborah Surdi. Legendary bass-baritone James Morris was brought on as a guest adjudicator.