The Oratorio Society of New York Announces Winners of 44th Annual Lyndon Woodside Oratorio-Solo Competition Finals

By Chris Ruel

The Oratorio Society of New York (OSNY) announced the winners of its 44th Annual Lyndon Woodside Oratorio Solo Competition Finals, which was held on Saturday, Aug. 21, 2021.

Here are the winners:

Soprano Emily Cedriana Donato won First Place, receiving the Andrew R. Preis Award and a $7,000 prize.

In Second Place, soprano Emily Yocum Black took home the Meyerson/Zwanger Award, along with a $5,000 prize.

Baritone Ryne Cherry placed Third and was awarded the Janet Plucknett Award, which comes with a $3000 prize.

Soprano Rebecca Farley and tenor Colin James Doyle also received awards. Farley won the Esther Korshin Award, which comes with a $2,500 prize, and Doyle earned the Frances MacEachron Award and a $1500 prize.

Collaborative Pianist Erika Switzer accompanied the finalists in performance.

The jury comprising Oratorio Society Music Director Kent Tritle, Ryan Brandau (Artistic Director of Amor Artis, Princeton Pro Musica, and Monmouth Civic Chorus), Hanako Yamaguchi (former Director of Music Programming at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts), Mark Shapiro (six-time ASCAP Award Winner), and Damien Sneed (Sphinx Medal of Excellence recipient), selected the five finalists from over 120 singers who took part in the 2020 competition. The pandemic led to the competition’s cancelation that year.