Switzerland Orders Mandatory Quarantine For All Arrivals From Omicron-Stricken Countries

By Dejan Vukosavljevic
(Credit: zuerich.com)

The government of Switzerland has announced urgent new measures in order to combat the new Omicron SARS-CoV-2 variant.

All persons (children included) coming from the countries where the Omicron has been detected will have to present a negative PCR test upon arrival and subsequently undergo mandatory 10-day quarantine regardless of the vaccination status. Additionally, a PCR or rapid antigen test must be conducted between day four and seven after entry.

The move will put additional pressure on an already fragile performing arts industry, as many performers could be forced to quarantine or miss rehearsals and performance due to quarantine.

In the European Union, Belgium, the Netherlands, Czech Republic, Denmark, and Portugal have been already put on a red list for countries exposed to the new variant. The list will be regularly updated based on the new detections of Omicron worldwide, and will be available here.