Royal Philharmonic Society Announces 2023 Award Winners

By Logan Martell

The Royal Philharmonic Society Awards has announced this year’s winners, celebrating the impact of classical music in the UK.

Held at London’s Queen Elizabeth Hall, winners of the evening included 27-year old organist and choral director Anna Lapwood, who received the Gamechanger Award for her artistry and advocacy for classical music; South African cellist Abel Selacoe, who received the Instrumentalist Award for his debut album; and British-Japanese composer Ben Nobuto, who won one of two composition awards for his “Serenity 2.0.”

Other winners include The Multi-Story Orchestra, who received the Impact Award for their “The Endz” production; the English National Opera, whose Music Director Martyn Brabbins was given the Conducting Award; soprano Anna Dennis, who received the Singer Award; and Theatre of Sound and Opera Venture, who won the Opera and Musical Theatre Award for their production of “Bluebeard’s Castle.”

On March 6, BBC Radio 3 will broadcast a special RPS Awards program featuring this year’s winners, with a film of the award ceremony available to watch free for a month on the RPS website beginning on March 9.