Royal Opera House Announces Participants of Jette Parker Programme 2023-24

By David Salazar

The Royal Opera House has announced the participants for its 2023-24 Jette Parker Artist Programme.

Among those joining in the fall of 2023 are sopranos Isabela Díaz and Valentina Puscas, baritone Grisha Martirosyan, mezzo-soprano Veena Akama-Makia, bass Jamie Woollard, and tenor Ryan Vaughan Davies.

Díaz has appeared at the Teatro Colón, Teatro Argentino de la Plata, and the Municipal Theatre of Santiago.

Martirosyan is the audience prize and the Dame Joan Sutherland Prize winner at the Veronica Dunne International Singing Competition in 2022 and has appeared with the Mascarade Emerging Artists in Florence.

Woollard is a student at the Royal College of Music Opera Studio where he has performed in operas such as “The Magic Flute,” “Orpheus in the Underworld,” and “Flight,” among others.

Akama-Makla is a Young Artist at the Chicago Opera Theatre where she has performed in “Quamino’s Map,” The BeeKeeper.” She also joined San Francisco Opera’s Merola Opera Programme in 2022.

Puscas has performed at the National Theatre of Miskolc, the Bucharest National Opera, the Transylvania Philharmonic, and the Oradea State Philharmonic, among others.

Davies is a student of the Royal Academy of Music and has performed with IfOpera, Garsington Opera Festival, the Grange Festival, Longborough Opera Festival, and Buxton Opera Festival.

“We’re delighted to welcome such exceptional British and international artists onto the Programme. It is more important than ever that we support young operatic talent, and I am delighted to see the Jette Parker Artists go from strength to strength. These company artists receive coaching from in-house experts and leading artists, preparing them for international careers and enhancing the UK’s reputation as a leading creative force in the world,” said Oliver Mears, Director of The Royal Opera, in an official press statement.

Graduates of the Jette Parker Programme that are set to star in roles throughout the current season include Masabane Cecilia Rangwanasha (“Turandot”) Filipe Manu (“The Magic Flute”), Aigul Akhmetshina (“The barber of Seville”) and David Butt Philip (“Rusalka”).