OPERA America Unveils 2020 National Opera Trustee Recognition Awards

By David Salazar

OPERA America has announced the recipients of its 2020 National Opera Trustee Recognition Awards, which are given to trustees of opera companies for their strong leadership and generosity.

This year, the recipients include Robert Ellis of San Francisco Opera, H. Bernt von Ohlen of Minnesota Opera, Linda Koehn of Des Moines Metro Opera, Phil Meyer of Pacific Opera Project, and Chris and Anita Murray of Opera Las Vegas.

The honorees will be celebrated in a dinner and reception on March 20, 2020 in Washington D. C.

“Successful opera companies depend on effective boards. The National Opera Trustee Recognition Awards afford the entire opera community an opportunity to salute and learn from those who have been so generous in their passion for the art form, vision and support of their opera companies,” stated Marc A. Scorca, president/CEO of OPERA America, in a press release.

The selection committee featured OPERA America Board Member Carol Lazier, Elizabeth Hernandez of Opera Cultura, Holly Mayer of The Dallas Opera, John Nesholm of Seattle Opera, Ruth Orth of Pensacola Opera, and Stacey Hunt Spier of El Paso Opera. Each member was a previous honoree of the National Opera Trustee Recognition Program.