Mirjam Helin Competition Announces 2024 Winners

By Francisco Salazar

The winner 2024 Mirjam Helin competition has announced its winners.

The first prize winner was Chinese mezzo-soprano Jingjing Xu, who received a prize of €50,000.

The second prize went to German soprano Kathrin Lorenzen who received €40,000, and the third prize went to the South Korean tenor Junho Hwang who received €30,000. Fourth place went to soprano Justyna Khil while fifth place went to Armenian baritone Aksel Daveyan. Finally, Croatian soprano Josipa Bilić took home sixth place. Each of them received €10,000.

In a statement jury chair Soile Isokoski said, “The standard of the competitors has been extremely high, and the audience fantastic. Furthermore, there has been a good spirit among the jury. It has been a great pleasure to be part of the competition.”

Other prizes included the €5,000 for the best Lied performance which went to the German baritone Gabriel Rollinson. The €5,000 prize for the best performance of a Finnish song by a singer whose native language is neither Finnish nor Swedish went to the Hungarian soprano Renáta Gebe-Fügi.

The choice of the press jury was the Norwegian soprano Hedvig Haugerud.

The student jury chose the Chinese mezzo-soprano Jingjing Xu as their favorite while the Finnish Broadcasting Company Yle audience favorite award went to Kathrin Lorenzen.

The jury members of the competition were bass-baritone Luca Pisaroni, pianist Keval Shah, baritone Bo Skovhus, mezzo-soprano Randi Stene, and soprano Dawn Upshaw. Soprano Soile Isokoski was the chair of the chair.

Meanwhile, the press jury consisted of Anne Aavik from Estonia, Kikka Holmberg and Harri Kuusisaari from Finland, and Jürgen Otten and Michael Stallknecht from Germany. The members of the student jury were Liisa Kouvonen from Turku University of Applied Sciences, Tanja Niemelä from the Sibelius Academy of the University of the Arts Helsinki, and Tiina Salminen from Metropolia University of Applied Sciences.