Metropolitan Opera & Yannick Nézet-Séguin Lead Classical Grammy Nominees

By Francisco Salazar

The Grammy nominations have been announced with Yannick Nézet-Séguin and the Metropolitan Opera leading the opera nominations.

The nominees for Best Opera Recording included Bartók’s “Bluebeard’s Castle” starring Susanna Mälkki, Mika Kares and Szilvia Vörös; Glass’s  “Akhnaten” with Karen Kamensek, J’Nai Bridges, Anthony Roth Costanzo, Zachary James, and Dísella Lárusdóttir; and Janáček’s “The Cunning Little Vixen” with Simon Rattle, Sophia Burgos, Lucy Crowe, Gerald Finley, Peter Hoare, Anna Lapkovskaja, Paulina Malefane, Jan Martinik, and Hanno Müller-Brachmann. Rounding out the category are Little’s “Soldier Songs” with Corrado Rovaris, Johnathan McCullough, James Darrah, and John Toia; and Poulenc’s “Dialogues Des Carmélites” starring Yannick Nézet-Séguin, conductor; Karen Cargill, Isabel Leonard, Karita Mattila, Erin Morley, and Adrianne Pieczonka.

The nominees for Best Classical Solo Vocal Album included “Confessions” by Laura Strickling and Joy Schreier, “Dreams Of A New Day – Songs By Black Composers” by Will Liverman and Paul Sánchez; “Mythologies” by Sangeeta Kaur and Hila Plitmann (Virginie D’Avezac De Castera, Lili Haydn, Wouter Kellerman, Nadeem Majdalany, Eru Matsumoto & Emilio D. Miler); “Schubert: Winterreise” by Joyce DiDonato and Yannick Nézet-Séguin; and “Unexpected Shadows” by Jamie Barton, Jake Heggie, and Matt Haimovitz.

The Best Classical Compendium nominees were “American Originals – A New World, A New Canon” featuring AGAVE and Reginald L. Mobley, “Berg: Violin Concerto; Seven Early Songs & Three Pieces For Orchestra” conducted by Michael Tilson Thomas; “Cerrone: The Arching Path” with Timo Andres & Ian Rosenbaum, “Plays” by Chick Corea, and “Women Warriors – The Voices Of Change” featuring Amy Andersson.

“It’s A Long Way” conducted by Matthew Guard lead the Best Choral Performance nominees which also included “Mahler: Symphony No. 8, ‘Symphony Of A Thousand'” featuring Gustavo Dudamel, Grant Gershon, Robert Istad, Fernando Malvar-Ruiz & Luke McEndarfer, chorus masters (Leah Crocetto, Mihoko Fujimura, Ryan McKinny, Erin Morley, Tamara Mumford, Simon O’Neill, Morris Robinson, and Tamara Wilson; “Rising w/The Crossing” with Donald Nally; “Schnittke: Choir Concerto; Three Sacred Hymns; Pärt: Seven Magnificat-Antiphons” starring Kaspars Putniņš, “Sheehan: Liturgy Of Saint John Chrysostom” led by Benedict Sheehan, “The Singing Guitar” featuring Craig Hella Johnson.

Finally the Producer Of The Year, Classical nominees included Blanton Alspaugh, Steven Epstein, David Frost, Elaine Martone, and Judith Sherman.