Martina Arroyo & Teresa Stratas To Be Honored At Metropolitan Opera Guild

By Francisco Salazar

The Metropolitan Opera Guild has announced that the honorees of its “Diamond Jubilee” celebration will be Martina Arroyo and Teresa Stratas.

The Guild’s 85th Annual Luncheon, which is set to take place on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2019 at Cipriani, will showcase Stephanie Blythe and musical tributes by Ailyn Pérez and Matthew Polenzani.

Richard J. Miller, Jr., President of the Metropolitan Opera Guild noted, “The extraordinary work of these artists sets a standard for performance that continues to astonish and inspire other artists and opera audiences around the world. Our Annual Luncheon helps make the Guild’s opera education programs possible, and the talent of these artists, coupled with their passion for spreading the love of opera, aligns perfectly with the Guild’s mission.”

The annual luncheon will also see Honored Guests Lucine Amara, Richard Bernstein, Harolyn Blackwell, Richard Bonynge, J’Nai Bridges, John Cheek, Philip Cokorinos, Anthony Roth Costanzo, Dwayne Croft, Tyne Daly, Elizabeth DeShong, Rosalind Elias, Lauren Flanigan, Denyce Graves, Hui He, Hei-Kyung Hong, Karen Kamensek, Judy Kuhn, Olga Kulchynska, Anthony Laciura, Shirley Love, John Macurdy, MaryAnn McCormick, James Morris, Eric Owens, Jongmin Park, Lonny Price, Susan Quittmeyer, Florence Quivar, Chita Rivera, Stephen Schwartz, Jane Shaulis, Bartlett Sher, George Shirley, Paulo Szot, and Arthur Woodley in attendance.

Arroyo is considered one of the generation’s great sopranos and was known for singing Verdi, Puccini, Mozart, Wagner and verismo works. Meanwhile, Stratas sang with major opera companies throughout the world, and appeared in a number of films of operas, including “Salome,” “Pagliacci,” and “La Traviata.”

The Metropolitan Opera Guild’s Annual Luncheon has been a highlight of every opera season for decades, with honorees including Anna Netrebko, Grace Bumbry, Plácido Domingo, Renée Fleming, Mirella Freni, Marilyn Horne, Sherrill Milnes, Jessye Norman, Renata Scotto, Frederica von Stade, Kiri Te Kanawa, and Franco Zeffirelli.