LiedDuo Competition IVC Announces 2021 Winners

By David Salazar
(Credit: (c) Ronald Knapp)

Baritone Arvid Fagerfjäll and pianist Hikaru Kanki are the winners of the top prize of the LiedDuo Competition IVC.

The duo will take home 7,500 euros in prize money as the winners of the Eugène Pannebakker LiedDuoPrijs.

Coming in second was soprano Sophia Burgos and pianist Daniel Gerzenberg; they will win 3,500 euros in prize earnings. Burgos and Gerzenberg were also the winners of the Van Riemsdijk Prijs for best performance of the Prize Song; they will earn an additional 2,500 euros for this victory. They also won the Internationaal Lied Festival Zeist Prijs, which gives the duo a chance to perform at the upcoming Lied Festival.

Ekaterina Chayka-Rubinstein and pianist Maria Yulin won the Vrienden van de IVC Prijs and 2,000 euros while Hikaru Kanki was the winner of the Rudolf Jansen Prijs, which is dedicated to the most distinctive pianist of the Finale.

The Edwin Rutten and Annett Andriesen Publiekprijs, which was awarded by audience members went to bass-baritone Matthias Hoffmann and pianist Lisa Ochsendorf; the duo also won the Junior Jury Prijs. The Peres Prijs, awarded by the press jury, went to tenor Ilja Aksionov and pianist Gustas Raudonius.

The competition’s jury was chaired by Dame Sarah Connolly and featured tenor Howard Haskin, tenor Christoph Prégardien, pianist Charles Spencer, pianist Roger Vignoles, and Concertgebouw programmer Mirjam Wijzenbeek.

Each duo was asked to create his or her own recital program; all performances had to feature Bart Visman and Marc Pantus’ “Vermeer’s Gold,” which was the prize song for the competition.