Janai Brugger, Amanda Woodbury & Catherine Russell Headline American Symphony Orchestra’s 2019-20 Season

By Nicole Kuchta
(Credit: Dario Acosta)

American Symphony Orchestra has announced its expanded 2019-20 season, which includes concerts at Carnegie Hall, Alice Tully Hall, and Symphony Space. For the purposes of this article, we will focus only on vocal performances.

The season will kick off with Edward Elgar’s oratorio “The Kingdom” at Carnegie Hall, which will feature soprano Janai Brugger, mezzo-soprano Maya Lahyani, tenor Cooper Nolan, and baritone Alexander Birch. They will be joined by the Bard Festival Chorale. Leon Botstein will conduct.

Performance Dates: Oct. 31, 2019

Enjoy rarely performed works by four of J. S. Bach’s sons during “Sons of Bach.” The concert, which will be held at Alice Tully Hall, will feature soprano Amanda Woodbury, mezzo-soprano Taylor Raven, tenor Jack Swanson, baritone Chris Kenney, and the Bard Festival Chorale alongside the orchestra, led by Botstein. The program is set to include W. F. Bach’s “Erzittert und Fallet,” J. C. F. Bach’s “Die Amerikanerin,” J. C. Bach’s Symphony in G Minor, Op. 6, No. 6, and C. P. E. Bach’s “Magnificat.”

Performance Dates: Dec. 19, 2019

Singer Catherine Russell will take to the stage for ASO’s “Duke Ellington” concert at Carnegie Hall. She will be joined by the Marcus Roberts Trio – Roberts (piano), Rodney Jordan (bass), and Jason Marsalis (drums). They will perform several works by Ellington, including “Three Black Kings,” “New World A-Comin’,” “Satin Doll,” “Harlem,” “Sophisticated Lady,” “Night Creature,” and “Black, Brown, and Beige.” Botstein will conduct.

Performance Dates: March 12, 2020