Curtis Institute of Music Names Recipients of 2024 Daniel W. Dietrich II Young Alumni Fund

By David Salazar

The Curtis Institute has named the recipients of the Third Annual Daniel W. Dietrich II Young Alumni Fund.

In the Project Support category, which supports new composition works, educational programming, community-based endeavors, and recordings by alumni, there were two vocal recipients. They include Merissa Beddows (Voice ’22) and Jazimina Creamer-MacNeil (Opera ’14).

In the Career Support category, which helps Curtis alumni with the “resources to further their professional and artistic development, purchase new musical instruments, cover travel expenses for auditions and competitions abroad, and continue their studies and coachings,” there were four opera / voice recipients. They include Dennis Chmelensky (Voice ’18 and Opera ’19), Vartan Gabrielian (Voice ’17 and Opera ’19), Roy Hage (Opera ’16), and Tyler Zimmerman (Opera ’18).

“We are proud to support and empower young alumni as they move into the next phase of their artistic journeys. Curtis graduates are some of the most innovative and accomplished musicians in the world. Their leadership is an endless source of inspiration for the next generation of classical artists here at Curtis and beyond.” said Shea Scruggs (Oboe ’04), Curtis’s director of institutional research and musician experience and chief enrollment officer.