Antonio Pappano, Carolyn Sampson & Judith Weier Highlight New Year Honours 2024

By Francisco Salazar

Several major opera figures received distinctions as part of the King’s New Year Honours 2024.

Among the honored musicians included Judith Weier who received a damehood and Stuart Murphy who received a CBE.

Laurence Cummings, Alex Reedijk, Carolyn Sampson, and Emma Wilson all received OBEs.

Meanwhile, Sir Antonio Pappano, Music Director of The Royal Opera became Commander of the Royal Victorian Order.

The New Year Honours is a part of the British honours system, with New Year’s Day, January 1, being marked by naming new members of orders of chivalry and recipients of other official honours.