2018 George London Awards Presented to Six Young Singers

By Logan Martell

On Feb. 16, the winners of the 47th annual George London Foundation Awards Competition were announced at the end of the competition’s final round.

The 17 finalists were chosen from more than 150 applicants. From these finalists, six were selected for the George London Award and the prize of $10,000 each; three finalists were granted $5000, and the remaining eight were given awards of $1000 each. Panelist judges included Harolyn Blackwell, Rosalind Elias, Nora London, George Shirley, and Richard Stillwell; renowned pianist Craig Rutenberg provided the accompaniment.

The six George London Award winners are:

Bass-baritone Lawson Anderson

Mezzo-soprano Raehann Bryce-Davis

Mezzo-soprano Emily D’Angelo

Soprano Lauren Margison

Baritone Benjamin Taylor

Awards of $5000 were presented to:

Mezzo-soprano Samantha Gossard

Countertenor Daniel Moody

Soprano Amy Owens

Awards of $1000 were presented to:

Tenor Martin Bakari

Soprano Deanna Breiwick

Mezzo-soprano Sarah Coit

Soprano Anna Dugin

Soprano Jana McIntyre

Tenor Aaron Short

Mezzo-soprano Corrie Stallings

The annual competition first began in 1971, and since then over 300 singers have been awarded prizes that total over $2 million. Notable winners of past competitions include Joyce DiDonato, Renee Fleming, James Morris, Matthew Polenzani, Dawn Upshaw, Catherine Malfitano, and Christine Goerke.

On Sunday, March 4, 2018, The George London Foundation’s 2017-18 season will come to a close with a duo recital at The Morgan Library & Museum, featuring soprano Heidi Melton and tenor Kyle van Schoonhoven, both accompanied by Rutenberg.