Renée Fleming Announces New Broadway Album

Renée Fleming, who is currently wowing audiences in “Carousel,” has  announced her new album “Broadway.”

The new album by Decca Classics is set to be released on Friday, Sept. 7, 2018 and will include songs for the stage by composers such as Stephen Sondheim, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Pasek & Paul, and Rogers & Hammerstein. It will also include a duet with award-winning Broadway and film star Leslie Odom, Jr. The album will also include Broadway legend Rob Fisher as music supervisor and conductor of the BBC Concert Orchestra, as well as the incomparable bassist and jazz great Christian McBride, rising star pianist Dan Tepfer, and Grammy-winning producer David Frost.

In a press statement Fleming said, “The great, classic Broadway musicals were central to my childhood. I sang Eliza Doolittle twice before I was even out of high school. This repertoire is so rich, and the sheer quality of the music is so high, that it’s been a joy to record these songs. And along with the growth of popular music, the sound of musical theater has evolved over time. Composers like Jeanine Tesori, and Pasek & Paul, and even popular music icons like Sting, have enriched the genre. It’s a living art form, enjoying a real boom right now, and it was a thrill for me to be able to include phenomenal songs that are absolutely current.”
Fleming made her Broadway musical debut this April as Nettie Fowler in “Carousel” and received her first Tony nomination. Throughout the past year, she has also been heard on the Oscar-winning soundtrack of “The Shape of Water” and she will soon be heard as the singing voice of Julianne Moore in the film adaptation of Ann Patchett’s best-seller “Bel Canto.”
Broadway – Tracklisting:
1.    ‘Fable’ from “The Light in the Piazza” (Guettel)
2.    ‘Loneliness of Evening’ from “South Pacific” (Rodgers & Hammerstein)
3.    ‘Children Will Listen/You’ve Got to be Taught’ from “Into the Woods/South Pacific”(Sondheim/Rogers & Hammerstein arr. Couglin), with guest star Leslie Odom, Jr.
4.    ‘So Big So Small from “Dear Evan Hansen” (Pasek & Paul)
5.    ‘Something Wonderful from “The King and I” (Rodgers & Hammerstein)
6.    ‘Wonderful Guy from “South Pacific” (Rodgers & Hammerstein)
7.    ‘Lay Down Your Head from “Violet” (Tesori/Crawley)
8.    ‘Down in the Depths (on the Ninetieth Floor)’ from “Red, Hot and Blue” (Porter)
9.    ‘Love and Love Alone/Winter’ from “The Visit” (Kander/Ebb)
10. ‘Dear Friend’ from “She Loves Me” (Bock/Harnick)
11. ‘The Sound of Music’ from “The Sound of Music” (Rodgers & Hammerstein)
12. ‘Unusual Way’ from “Nine” (Yeston)
13. ‘Till There Was You’ from “The Music Man” (Wilson)
14. ‘The Glamorous Life’ from “A Little Night Music” (Sondheim)
15. ‘Tell Me on A Sunday’ from “Song and Dance” (Lloyd Webber/Black)
16. ‘August Winds’ from “The Last Ship” (Sting)
17. ‘All the Things You Are’ from “Very Warm for May” (Kern/Hammerstein)
Liked it? Take a second to support Francisco Salazar on Patreon!

About the Author

Francisco Salazar
FRANCISCO SALAZAR, (Publisher) worked as a reporter for Latin Post where he has had the privilege of interviewing numerous opera stars including Anita Rachvelshvili and Ailyn Perez. He also worked as an entertainment reporter where he covered the New York and Tribeca Film Festivals and interviewed many celebrities such as Antonio Banderas, Edgar Ramirez and Benedict Cumberbatch. He currently freelances for Remezcla. He holds a Masters in Media Management from the New School and a Bachelor's in Film Production and Italian studies from Hofstra University.

Be the first to comment on "Renée Fleming Announces New Broadway Album"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.