Joyce DiDonato, Jonas Kaufmann & Matthias Goerne Among ECHO KLASSIK Award Winners

Thomas Gottschalk

The annual ECHO KLASSIK Awards have announced their 54 awards in 22 categories.

This year’s coveted Female and Male singer of the year awards went to Joyce DiDonato and  Matthias Goerne.

Other winners included Jonas Kaufmann, whose album “Dolce Vita” topped the charts in terms of sales and will be honored in the category of “Bestseller of the Year 2017.”

Aida Garifullina took home the Best Solo Recording of arias and recitals while Ian Bostridge was honored with the Best Solo Recording of songs.

Pretty Yende was recognized as the Best Newcomer while Kent Nagano obtained accolades as the Conductor of the year.

Mozart’s “Le Nozze Di Figaro” starring Sonya Yoncheva, Luca Pisaroni, Thomas Hampson, and Rolando Villazon conducted by Yannick Nézet-Séguin won the Opera recording of the year from the 17th and 18th century. Meanwhile Anne Schwanewilms and Roman Trekel’s recording of Berg’s “Wozzeck” won Best Opera Recording from the 20th and 21st Century.

Marianne Crebassa won the Best Solo Recording for Duets or Opera Arias while Purcell’s “The Indian Queen ” won Best DVD.

Other winners include Daniel Hope, Maurizio Pollini, Fazıl Say, Christian Tetzlaff, the Vienna Piano Trio, Thomas Fritzsch, Sebastian Knauer, Linus Roth and next-generation artist Lucas Debargue.

The ECHO KLASSIK trophies will be handed out on Sunday, Oct. 29, 2017, during a gala event in the Elbphilharmonie Concert Hall in Hamburg. The German public TV channel ZDF will broadcast the ceremony that evening starting at 10 pm. Once again, popular television presenter Thomas Gottschalk will host the ECHO KLASSIK, marking the fourth time he acts as master of ceremonies for the event.

Liked it? Take a second to support Francisco Salazar on Patreon!

About the Author

Francisco Salazar
FRANCISCO SALAZAR, (Publisher) worked as a reporter for Latin Post where he has had the privilege of interviewing numerous opera stars including Anita Rachvelshvili and Ailyn Perez. He also worked as an entertainment reporter where he covered the New York and Tribeca Film Festivals and interviewed many celebrities such as Antonio Banderas, Edgar Ramirez and Benedict Cumberbatch. He currently freelances for Remezcla. He holds a Masters in Media Management from the New School and a Bachelor's in Film Production and Italian studies from Hofstra University.

Be the first to comment on "Joyce DiDonato, Jonas Kaufmann & Matthias Goerne Among ECHO KLASSIK Award Winners"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.