Northern Aldborough Festival Announces 2023 New Voice Competition Winners

By Francisco Salazar

The Northern Aldborough Festival’s ⁩ inaugural New Voices Competition has announced its winners. 

Mezzo-soprano Lea Shaw alongside pianist Kristina Yorgova won the £5000 Seastock Trust Prize. Meanwhile, soprano Alexandra Beason (with Ilan Kurtser) won the £1500 Yorkshire Music Future Fund Prize.

The other finalists were Victoria Mulley, a late edition to the semi-finals, and soprano Georgie Malcolm, who performed with pianist Edward Campbell-Rowntree.

The competition was held on June 21 at St Andrew’s Church and saw a jury that consisted of Dame Felicity Lott, Christian Curnyn, Joseph Middleton, Robert Ogden, and Sir Andrew Lawson-Tancre.