Toledo Opera Announces 2023-24 Resident Artists

By David Salazar

Toledo Opera has announced its Resident Artists for the 2023-24 season.

This year’s roster features soprano Sara Mortensen, mezzo-soprano Imara Miles, tenor Jon Suek, baritone Evan Fleming, and pianist Steven Naylor.

The five artists will be part of the company’s “Opera on Wheels” program, which will feature performances of the children’s opera “Who’s Afraid of the Big Bad Wolf” by composer Joshua Borths, who also wrote the libretto. The opera will be directed by James M. Norman.

“I look forward to working with Sara, Imara, and Steven for a second year and to welcoming Jon and Evan to the troupe. Together, we will bring ths fantastic adaptation to life for school children all over the Northwest Ohio and Southeast Michigan region.” Norman said in an official press statement.

The five artists will also be part of the Opera Outdoors tours in the fall and spring and will take on smaller roles in the company’s 2023-24 mainstage productions of “Cinderella,” “Romeo and Juliet,” and “Ragtime.”