The Metropolitan Opera Eric and Dominique Laffont Competition Announces 2021 Winners

By Francisco Salazar

The Metropolitan Opera National Council Award, now renamed The Metropolitan Opera Eric and Dominique Laffont Competition, announced its 2021 winners which will receive $20,000.

The American Scandinavian Foundation Birgit Nilsson Award went to Hyoyoung Kim while the Faith B. Geier Award went to Raven McMillon. Meanwhile, the Dominque Lafont Award went to Duke Kim and the Metropolitan Opera Guild Alton E. Peters Award went to Emily Treigle. The final winner, Emily Sierra, won the Noreen Zimmerman Award.

The other five finalists will receive $10,000 from sponsored donors. Timothy Murray won the Ellie Caulkins Award while the Pamela Craven Award went to Jongwon Han and the Judith Raskin Award went to Brittany Olivia Logan. Murrella Parton won the Nicole and Fernand Lamesch Award while Erica Petrocelli won the Anne de Richemont Smithers Award.

Ryan Speedo Green hosted the event which was streamed worldwide. The finals were judged by Lawrence Brownlee, Michael Heaston, Paul Hopper, Sophie Joyce, Melissa Wegner, and Evamaria Wieser.