The Kurt Weil Foundation For Music Announces 2020 Lotte Lenya Competition Semi-Finalists

By Dejan Vukosavljevic

The Kurt Weil Foundation For Music announced 2020 Lotte Lenya Competition semi-finalists. This is the full list of young artists who have made to the semi-finals:

Michael Aiello, Gan-ya Ben-gur Akselrod, David Anderson, Zarah Brock, Anighya Crocker, Michael Day, Darren Drone, Kaden Forsberg, Crystal Glenn, Dylan Glenn, Rivers Hawkins, Jonathan Heller, Michael Hewitt, Jonah Hoskins,  Elena Howard-Scott, Stephanie Jabre, Gemma Nha, Marie Oppert, Teresa Perrotta, Christine Price, Lauren Senden, Emma Sorenson, Meg Supina, Tabea Tatan, Sophie Thompson, Jeremy Weiss, Ronald Wilbur, and Andy Zimmermann.

In addition to the semi-finalists, seven applicants received Emerging Talent Awards: Melanie Dubil, Emily Holguin, Kassondra Kardos, Nicole Maridan, Sophia Spivey, Kodiak Thompson, and Katie Yeomans.

The recipient of the Grace Keagy Award for Outstanding Vocal Promise is Sydney Clarke.

The semi-finals take place on March 11 and 12 in New York City, where contestants will be coached and adjudicated by the lyric soprano and stage actress Lisa Vroman and singer Rebecca Luker. The semi-finalists will compete for a spot in the 2020 finals, which takes place on May 2 in Rochester, New York at Kilbourn Hall.

The Lotte Lenya Competition recognizes talented young singers and actors who are dramatically and musically convincing in the repertoire ranging from opera and operetta to contemporary Broadway scores, with a focus on the works of Kurt Weill.

The Kurt Weill Foundation for Music is dedicated to promoting understanding of the life and works of composer Kurt Weill and preserving the legacies of Weill and his wife, actress and singer Lotte Lenya.