The Dallas Opera Announces Nine Finalists for Dallas Opera National Vocal Competition

By Francisco Salazar

The Dallas Opera has announced the nine finalists of the Dallas Opera National Vocal Competition.

The finals, which will be held on March 8, will showcase soprano Katerina Burton, soprano Adia Evans, soprano Elisa Sunshine, mezzo-soprano Lisa Marie Rogali, countertenor Cody Bowers, tenor Matthew Cairns, baritone Navasard Hakobyan, baritone Yeongtaek Yang,  and bass-baritone Jongwon Han.

Finalists will be accompanied by The Dallas Opera Orchestra, led by Paolo Bressan.

The finalists will each perform one aria for the final round performance with repertoire that includes selections by Verdi, Rossini, Handel, Puccini, Wagner, and more.

Winners will be selected by a distinguished panel of judges that include The Dallas Opera’s Artistic Consultant David Lomelí (Chair), Paul Hopper, Senior Director, Artistic Planning, LA Opera; Andreas Melinat, Vice President, Artistic Planning at Lyric Opera of Chicago; Nicole Paiement, The Martha R. and Preston A. Peak Principal Guest Conductor at The Dallas Opera and Founder and Artistic Director of Opera Parallèle; and Kristian Roberts, Director of Education at The Dallas Opera.

Previous prizewinners in The Dallas Opera National Vocal Competition include Latonia Moore, Marjorie Owens, J’Nai Bridges, Aryeh Nussbaum Cohen, John Holiday, and Steven LaBrie.