The BMP: Producer Academy Unveils 2023 Cohorts

By Afton Wooten

Beth Morrison Projects has announced its participants for the 2023 BMP: Producer Academy.

Joining the 8-week course are sopranos Sydney Anderson (she/her) and Julia Dawson, tenor Katherine Goforth, baritone Luka Kawabata 川端ルカ, Esha Datta, Kin Marie Broughton,  Erin Buvala-Benites, Matt Cahill (he/they), Frankie J. Alicea (he/they), Michael Alvarez, Gavin Gamboa, Becca Hoback, Brandon Kazen-Maddox (they/them), Destin Randell King, and Rory James Leech.

All participants receive full scholarships funded by the Mellon Foundation, which awarded a $485,000 grant to support the project’s development for the next two years. Throughout the course students will attend a set of weekly lectures and Q&A sessions, early evening happy hours, and networking sessions with industry professionals. Additional mentorship sessions will be scheduled after the 8-week program. Both BMP staff and guest lecturers, including Paola Prestini, Susan Feder, Ann Hamada-McLaughlin, Meredith Lynsey Schade, Brian Freeland, and our own Andrew Ousley, will serve as faculty for the duration of the course.

The BMP: Producer Academy. runs Sept. 25 through the week of Nov. 13.