Thomas Adès, Brett Dean, Tansy Davies, Brian Irvine, Hannah Kendall, Ben Nobuto, John Rutter, Josephine Stephenson, & Dobrinka Tabakova Take Home Ivor Novello Awards

((c) Hogan Media Shutterstock) The Ivors Academy revealed the winners of the Ivor Novello Awards at The Ivors Classical Awards. The 11 winners were announced during a ceremony hosted by BBC Radio 3’s Hannah Peel and Tom Service at the British Film Institute in London. Winners in opera and classical voice categories are Thomas Adès, Brett Dean, Tansy Davies, Brian {…}

Royal Opera House / Irish National Opera 2023 Review: Least Like The Other, Searching for Rosemary Kennedy

(Photo: INO, Kip Carroll) “Least Like The Other” continues the Royal Opera House’s partnership with Irish National Opera in Covent Garden’s Linbury Theatre, following last year’s “Bajazet.” This new work is centuries away from Vivaldi’s pasticcio and a world apart stylistically, but what binds them both is the unerring pursuit of bracing theatrical intensity. “Least Like The Other, Searching for {…}