Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra Announces 2021-22 Season

By David Salazar

Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra has announced the fall portion of its 2021-22 season.

For the purposes of this article, our focus will on vocal and operatic performances.

First up will be a concert performance of Mozart’s Requiem at Sheldonian Theatre. Soloists include Mary Bevan, Hanna Hipp, and Joshua Ellicott, and Ashley Riches. The concert will also star clarinetist Laura Ruiz Ferreres who will perform Mozart’s Clarinet Concerto. Marios Papadopoulos conducts.

Performance Date: Oct. 28, 2021

Tenor Mark Padmore will perform Beethoven’s “An die ferne Geliebe” and Schubert’s “Schwanengesang.” He will be joined by pianist Mitsuko Uchida.

Performance Date: Dec. 8, 2021 

Catherine Wyn-Rogers, Joshua Ellicott, and Dominic Sedgwick will perform Haydn’s Mass No. 11 in D Minor. The concert will also feature Beethoven’s Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61, performed by Anne-Sophie Mutter. Marios Papadopoulos conducts.

Performance Date: Dec. 10, 2021

Rhian Lois, Stephanie Wake-Edwards, Robert Murray, and Peter Harvey solo in Händel’s “Messiah.” Steven Grahl conducts.

Performance Date: Dec. 16, 2021