Oratorio Society of New York Announces Winners of 45th Annual Competition

By David Salazar

The 45th Annual Lyndon Woodside Oratorio-Solo Competition has announced its winners.

Coming in first place was Julie Roset, who took home the Holly McCracken Award and a $7,000 cash prize. The second place Meyerson/Zwanger Award and $5,000 went to Eric Carey while William Socolof took home the Janet Plucknett Award and a $3,000 prize.

Other winners include Morgan Balfour who came in fourth with the Esther Korshin Award and $2,500; Joseph Parish who finished fifth and earned the Watson Family Award and $1,500; sixth place winner Sophie Michaux who earned the William Grogan Award and $1,000; Bradyn Debysingh who received the Robert and Winifred Connelly Green Award and $1,000; and Bryan Murray who won eighth place, the Jody Spellun Award, and $1,000.

The judges for this year’s edition included Kent Tritle, Ryan Brandau, Hanako Yamaguchi, Mark Shapiro, and Sidney Outlaw.