Opera Theatre of Saint Louis Extends Principal Conductor Daniela Candillari’s Contract

By Francisco Salazar

The Opera Theatre of Saint Louis has announced that it will extend Principal Conductor Daniela Candillari’s contract.

The conductor will remain with the company through September 2028.

Candillari made her OTSL debut in 2021 conducting the “New Works, Bold Voices Lab” and began her tenure as OTSL’s Principal Conductor in 2022.

In a statement, the conductor said, “Since joining OTSL as Principal Conductor, St. Louis has become a musical home for me. Opera is vital and vibrant here thanks to the love and dedication of a community of artists, supporters, staff, and volunteers. I am very grateful to work in partnership with Artistic Director James Robinson, Artistic Director of Young Artist Programs Patricia Racette, and General Director Andrew Jorgensen to advance our shared commitments to commissioning and developing new work, supporting the next generation of artists, and achieving the highest levels of artistry. I also cannot wait to return in this and future seasons to collaborate with the wonderful St. Louis Symphony Orchestra players, one of this country’s great musical institutions.”

General Director Andrew Jorgensen added, “We’re thrilled to have Daniela Candillari with us for another four years. Our company has greatly benefitted from her passion, talent, and dedication since 2022. Her commitment to artistic excellence and her love of collaboration are truly inspiring. She understands how opera can delight, empower, and unite a community, and she’s a steadfast champion of this art form. Daniela is one of the great lights in our industry, and we are so fortunate to partner with her. As we look ahead to our 50th season and beyond, we’re grateful for her artistic leadership, and we’re so excited about the role she will play in OTSL’s future.”

In addition to conducting at OTSL, Candillari has been a guest conductor at the Lyric Opera of Chicago, Washington National Opera, Deutsche Oper Berlin, Opera Philadelphia, the New York Philharmonic, St. Louis Symphony Orchestra, and American Composers Orchestra.