Opera Holland Park Releases the Casts for their 2017 Season!

By Katharine Baran

Investec Opera Holland Park introduced its cast lists for their 2017 season. The season features many of its Opera Holland Park (OHP) performers, house premiers from known singers, and new talent incorporating numerous young British performers that have been part of OHP’s Young Artists Scheme.

The company’s opening production, Puccini’s “La rondine,” will celebrate its centenary in 2017, showcasing Elizabeth Llewellyn as Magda. Llewellyn played the Countess in OHP’s 2011 production of “Le Nozze di Figaro” and Fiordiligi in “Così fan tutte” in 2012.

Armenian soprano Tereza Gevorgyan will make her OHP debut as Lisette. David Stephenson, who was in OHP’s production of “Madama Butterfly,” will return as Rambaldo Fernandez.

The performance will also include Stephen Aviss and Alice Privett, who previously trained with the Young Artists Scheme at OHP in 2016. Martin Lloyd-Evans will direct the show, while Matthew Waldren, now Mackerras Fellow at English National Opera, will conduct.

Making his OHP debut, Ashley Riches will perform in the title role of Mozart’s “Don Giovanni.” Lauren Fagan will accompany Riches as Donna Anna. Returning from the 2016 season, Ben Johnson will play Don Ottavio, Victoria Simmonds will be Donna Elvira and John Savournin as Leporello.

Three artists from the OHP 2015 season are returning: Graeme Broadbent as Il Commendatore, Ellie Laugharne as Zerlina, and Ian Beadle as Masetto. The team from “La Cenerentola,” which includes conductor Dane Lam, director Oliver Platt and designer Neil Irish, will reunite for “Don Giovanni,” which will premiere on June 22.

Kata Kabanova” will be directed by Olivia Fuchs, while Julia Sporsen will play Kata and Peter Hoare will make his debut as Boris. Anne Mason will also debut as Kabanicha. Nicky Spence, who performed at OHP last in 2010, is anticipated to play Tichon. Also from 2016, Mikhail Svetlov and Laura Woods will return while conductor Sian Edwards will make her OHP debut. Yannis Thavoris is the designer.

Anne Sophie Duprels will once again take on the title role in Leoncavallo’s “Zaza.”

Numerous others will return from the 2016 season, including James Cleverton, Johane Ansell, and Richard Burkhard. Conductor Peter Robinson will return to OHP and director Marie Lambert will make her debut.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland” by Will Todd will celebrate it’s fifth year anniversary at OHP with the cast to be announced.