Opera Awards Foundation Unveils 2019 Bursary Recipients

By David Salazar

The Opera Awards Foundation has announced the 2019 bursary recipients.

In sum, there are 14 winners, including mezzo-soprano Anna Starushkevyich, soprano Aphrodite Patoulidou, soprano Caroline Modiba, soprano Claire Lees, soprano Ella Taylor, baritone Jack Holton, soprano Jacqueline Piccolino, counter-tenor Kieron Connor Valentine, mezzo-soprano Kseniia Nikolaieva, baritone Luvuyo Mbundu, soprano Sarah-Jane Lewis, conductor Vanessa Chartrand-Rodrigue, director Xolane Marman, and the Waterperry Opera Festival.

“After what has been another brilliant year at the Opera Awards, I am very proud to present this year’s Opera Awards Foundation bursary recipients,” stated Harry Hyman, founder of the International Opera Awards. “It’s very difficult with the economies around the world in the condition they’re in now for aspiring talent to develop, and I hope that we can make a positive impact on the opera scene by helping them onto the road to success. It means so much to be able to contribute and I get a real feeling of achievement when I see our young artists engaged by major opera companies and young artist programs around the world. We look forward to welcoming these rising stars and to see how they progress over the next year and beyond.”

The recipients receive bursaries totaling 60,000 pounds for 2019-20 with the intent of helping with a variety of career expenses.