Opera Awards Foundation Announces 19 Bursary Recipients for 2022

By David Salazar

The Opera Awards Foundation has announced the 2022 bursary recipients.

The awards, which aim to help young artists with their career development will be given to 19 recipients this year. Artists will receive help with their living and travel cost, course fees, promotional material, and professional coaching sessions.

This year’s winners include soprano Sarah Ampil, writer Laura Attridge, mezzo-soprano Megan Baker, mezzo-soprano Georgia Mae Bishop, mezzo-soprano Hannah Bennett, soprano Emilia Bertolini, baritone Benoît Déchelotte, soprano Katrine Deleuran, writer / director Leo Doulton, soprano Mimi Doulton, conductor James Ham, soprano Hasmik Harutyunyan, soprano Charlotte Kelso, tenor Thomas Kinch, tenor Thando Mjandana, repetiture Aleksandra Myslek, tenor Alan Pingarrón, and soprano Nombulelo Yende.

“I’m very proud to announce our 2022 Opera Awards Foundation bursary recipients,” said Harry Hyman, Chair of the International Opera Awards, in an official press statement. “Over the ten years that we’ve been supporting artists through the Foundation, our work feels more important than ever as they develop their careers in this post-pandemic world. It always fills me with great pride to look back at previous bursary recipients, not only to see them grace some of the biggest stages in the world, but also to witness the positive impact they’ve made on the opera scene in general – and I look forward to watching this year’s recipients’ achievements as their careers unfold.”